(1988) Twelve Saxophones (Sopranino to Bass)



Fluvial explores the acoustic possibilities of the saxophone ensemble. The harmonic structure is based on the natural harmonic and inharmonic overtones, or multiphonics, inherent to the instrument. The title refers to the river-like movement of the music, which is conceived as a series of vortices.


Performances & Broadcasts

* North American Saxophone Alliance: Symposium de Saxophone
 Université Laval, Québec (Québec), Canada 1988
* Radio-Canada broadcast, Québec, Canada 1988

Fluvial was commissioned with the assistance of the Canada Council by ‘Le Grand Ensemble de Saxophones de Montréal’, to whom it is dedicated.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s